Contact Information


Solano County Library
Literacy Program


Adult Literacy/ESL


Do you need help with your reading, writing or English speaking skills?  Adults come to the library's literacy program with a variety of goals. 

For example: 


  • Read to their children

  • Help their children with homework

  • Get a job


Adults can improve their literacy skills when they are given encouragement, guidance and appropriate materials. Trained volunteers help with free tutoring.


Adult Learner Qualifications:


  • Must be at least 16 years old and not attending high school

  • Live within the jurisdiction of Solano County Library

  • Read at or below the 5th grade level

  • Able to meet twice a week for 1 ½ hours each time

  • Commit to at least 6 months of tutoring




To get started, please attend one of the following New Student Meetings

Bring a translator if needed.

No children allowed at meetings.



Fairfield Civic Center Library:

Wednesday, October 21– 6:30 pm-8:00 pm

Thursday, November 5 – 10:00 am-11:30 am

Tuesday, November 17 – 6:30 pm-8:00 pm


Vacaville Public Library – Town Square:

Tuesday, October 6 – 6:30 pm-8:00 pm

Tuesday, October 13 –10:00 am-11:30 am

Wednesday, November 4 – 10:00 am-11:30 am

Thursday, November 12 – 6:30 pm-8:00 pm


John F. Kennedy Library – Vallejo:

Tuesday, October 6 – 10:30 am-12:00 noon

Wednesday, October 14 – 6:30 pm- 8:00 pm

Monday, November 9 – 6:30 pm-8:00 pm

Wednesday, November 18 – 10:30 am- 12 noon



"I hated school. It's embarrassing when your peer would correct your spelling paper and you had practically nothing...The literacy program has really helped me by encouraging me. I never got that when I was a kid."

- Ron

Listen to Ron's Story