About Databases

 

1. What are Databases?

Databases are files of articles, books, or information produced in machine-readable format which can be searched by using a computer. Databases are synonymous with digital resources or electronic resources –online information format instead of paper.  These resources have been reviewed and recommended by the Library.

Databases provide access to information like full-text articles and encyclopedia entries, such as:

  • Newspaper articles from the New York Times, Washington Post, San Francisco Chronicle, etc.
  • Magazine articles from U.S. News and World Report,Newsweek, Consumer Reports, etc.
  • Encyclopædia Britannica Online
  • Biographical information about your favorite authors, movie stars, scientists, mathematician, etc.
  • Research for genealogy, homework help, and more
2. How are databases different from a website?

A primary difference between databases and websites is that librarians review and select the databases which have book, magazine, journal, and even Web information that is considered reliable, authoritative, historically relevant, and valuable.  Most information on the web does not go through a review process.  Most of the information available through a database also is available in a paper format but by providing the information in an electronic format, the library can save money by buying one electronic subscription which can be shared by many people.

For your research, you will probably save yourself time and find more quality information if you begin with library resources and then move to the Web if you need more information or other points of view. Remember, when using remote access to get to the library's databases, you are accessing the library's collection via the Web, but are still using library resources which tend to be more reliable.

3. How can I access this information?
If you are inside any of our libraries, you have access to our databases from any computer.  However, if you access our databases from home or work, you need to enter your library card number.  Learn more about getting a library card.
4. Who provides these databases?
These databases are provided through subscriptions underwritten by the Solano, Napa, and Partners (SNAP) Library Consortium.