Using Your Library Card
Everyone is welcome to use the Solano County Library. Library cards are free. To get one you need photo identification and proof of your current California address. Children under the age of 18 need a parent or guardian’s signature. If a child doesn’t have acceptable ID, the Library will accept the parent or guardian’s identification and proof of current California address.
E-cards (electronic library cards) provide immediate access to electronic resources such as downloadable books, articles, and online tutors. They are a quick way for new users to reserve items before making their first visit to the library.
Lost and Stolen Library Cards
You are responsible for everything that is checked out with your card. Protect your library card as you would a credit card. You must pay fees if you don’t bring materials back on time. Do not lend your card to others and report lost or stolen cards immediately. When your name, address, email or phone number changes, please let us know.
Holds and Auto Renewals
If your choice is checked out or at another library you can choose “Place Hold (Request this item)” on the left of the screen from your choice in the catalog. If you prefer, a library staff member can do this for you, either in person or by phone.
Materials will renew automatically 3 days before the due date. You may sign-up for email receipts through the Your Account feature on the Library’s website. Under Opt-In & Notification, Receipts is the last option. If you select email as your notice preference, the Library will notify you of the new due date via email.
We will send you an email when your reserved items (holds) are available and when it is time to return the items you have checked out.
Solano County Library has adopted a Fine Free Policy. “No fines” does not mean “no responsibility.” Patrons will be blocked from checking out further items if the items are not returned within fourteen days of the due date.
There is no replacement fee for a lost, stolen or damaged library card. The charge for lost or damaged items is the cost of the items(s). Referral to a collection agency results in an additional $10 fee. You can pay your fees with cash, check or Visa/Mastercard credit/debit card at any Solano County Library.